Society for Music Theory

Music Theory Online is a journal of criticism, commentary, research and scholarship. The refereed open-access electronic journal of the Society for Music Theory, MTO has been in continuous publication since 1993. New issues are published four times per year and include articles, reviews, commentaries, and analytical essays. In addition, MTO publishes a list of job opportunities and abstracts of recently completed dissertations.

Current Issue: Volume 23.2, featuring articles, reviews, and commentaries by:

  • Nicole Biamonte
  • Matthew L. Boyle
  • Brett Clement
  • Roger Graybill
  • Marc E. Hannaford
  • Marc Lafrance and Lori Burns
  • Rachel L. Lumsden
  • Vivian Luong
  • Gregory R. McCandless
  • Mark Spicer
  • Maeve Sterbenz
  • Anna Zayaruznaya

: Nicole Biamonte (McGill University)
: Stephen Rodgers (University of Oregon)
: Joti Rockwell (Pomona College) and Michael Callahan (Michigan State University)
: Brent Yorgason (Brigham Young University)
MTO Editorial Board