Music Theory Online

ISSN 1067-3040

Volume 13 Number 4, December 2007
Copyright 2007 Society for Music Theory
Table of Contents


Julian Hook
(Indiana University)
Why Are There Twenty-Nine Tetrachords? A Tutorial on Combinatorics and Enumeration in Music Theory
Jeannie Ma. Guerrero
(Eastman School of Music)
Francesco's Dream: Musical Logic in Landini's Three-Voice Ballate
Peter A. Martens
(Texas Tech University)
Glenn Gould's "Constant Rhythmic Reference Point":
Communicating Pulse in Bach's Goldberg Variations, 1955 and 1981
Jacob Reed (Ohio State University) and Matthew Bain (Ohio State University)
A Tetrahelix Animates Bach: Revisualization of David Lewin's Analysis of the Opening of the F# Minor Fugue from WTC I
Matt L. BaileyShea
(Eastman School of Music)
Filleted Mignon: A New Recipe for Analysis and Recomposition
Deborah Mawer
(Lancaster University)
Exploring Complementation in Bartók’s Third Quartet

Employment Opportunities

New Dissertations

  • Attar, Ron, "Analysis of Bela Bartok's Performances to Selected Compositions." Bar-Ilan University, Israel, June 2007.
  • Derfler, Brandon, "Single-Voice Transformations: A Model for Parsimonious Voice Leading." University of Washington, November 2007.
  • Greitzer, Mary L, "Tormented Voices." Harvard University, August 2007.
  • Malawey, Victoria L., "Temporal Process, Repetition, and Voice in Björk's Medúlla." Indiana University Bloomington, December 2007.

New Books

Book Review

Samuel Ng
(Louisiana State University)
Review of Peter H. Smith, Expressive Forms in Brahms's Instrumental Music: Structure and Meaning in His Werther Quartet
(Indiana University Press, 2005)


Upcoming Events

Other Announcements

Please direct all queries to the or to the

Timothy Koozin (University of Houston)
Reviews Editor
Jeffrey Perry (Louisiana State University)
Editorial Board
Michael Buchler (Florida State University) Norman Carey (CUNY Graduate Center)
David E. Cohen (Columbia University) Nora A. Engebretsen (Bowling Green State University)
Joel Galand (Florida International University) Kevin Korsyn (University of Michigan)
Rebecca Leydon (Oberlin College) Scott Murphy (University of Kansas)
Richard Parncutt (University of Graz, Austria)
Managing Editor
Brent Yorgason (Indiana University)

LOCKSS system has permission to collect, preserve, and serve this Archival Unit

Copyright Statement

Copyright 2007 by the Society for Music Theory.
All rights reserved.

[1] Copyrights for individual items published in MTO are held by their authors. Items appearing in MTO may be saved and stored in electronic or paper form, and may be shared among individuals for purposes of scholarly research or discussion, but may not be republished in any form, electronic or print, without prior, written permission from the author(s), and advance notification of the editors of MTO.

[2] Any redistributed form of items published in MTO must include the following information in a form appropriate to the medium in which the items are to appear:

This item appeared in Music Theory Online in [VOLUME #, ISSUE #] on [DAY/MONTH/YEAR]. It was authored by [FULL NAME, EMAIL ADDRESS], with whose written permission it is reprinted here.

[3] Libraries may archive issues of MTO in electronic or paper form for public access so long as each issue is stored in its entirety, and no access fee is charged. Exceptions to these requirements must be approved in writing by the editors of MTO, who will act in accordance with the decisions of the Society for Music Theory.

Return to top

Prepared by Brent Yorgason, Managing Editor
Updated December 31 2010

Number of visits since December 2007:

web site analytic