Music Theory Online

ISSN 1067-3040

Volume 14 Number 3, September 2008
Copyright 2008 Society for Music Theory
Table of Contents


Guy Capuzzo
(University of North Carolina at Greensboro)
Maximally Alpha-Like Operations
Vasileios Kallis
(University of Nicosia, Cyprus)
Principles of Pitch Organization in Scriabin’s Early Post-tonal Period: The Piano Miniatures

Employment Opportunities

New Dissertations

  • Doll, Christopher, "Listening to Rock Harmony." Columbia University, May 2007.
  • Johnson, Barrett A, "An Original Composition, Galleria Armonica, Theme and Variations for Piano, Harpsichord, Harp and Orchestra and A Comparative Study Between the Pedagogical Methodologies of Arnold Schoenberg and Nadia Boulanger Regarding Training the Composer." Louisiana State University, November 2007.


Henry Martin (Rutgers University-Newark), Cynthia Folio (Temple University), Steve Larson (University of Oregon), Lori Burns (The University of Ottawa), John Covach (Eastman School of Music) and Walter Everett (The University of Michigan)
Report on the 2008 Mannes Institute for Advanced Studies in Music Theory: Jazz Meets Pop

Book Review

Brad Osborn
(University of Washington)
Review of Andrew Dell’Antonio ed., Beyond Structural Listening?: Postmodern Modes of Hearing
(University of California Press, 2004)


Other Announcements

Please direct all queries to the or to the

Tim Koozin (University of Houston)
Matthew Shaftel (Florida State University)
Reviews Editor
Jeffrey Perry (Louisiana State University)
Editorial Board
Michael Buchler (Florida State University) Matthew Butterfield (Franklin & Marshall College)
Norman Carey (CUNY Graduate Center) Nora A. Engebretsen (Bowling Green State University)
Joel Galand (Florida International University) Kevin Korsyn (University of Michigan)
Peter Martens (Texas Tech University) Scott Murphy (University of Kansas)
Shaugn O'Donnell (The City College of New York)
Managing Editor
Brent Yorgason (Marietta College)
Editorial Assistants
Sean Atkinson (Florida State University)
William Guerin (Indiana University)
Mitch Ohriner (Indiana University)
Jennie Smith (Florida State University)

LOCKSS system has permission to collect, preserve, and serve this Archival Unit

Copyright Statement

Copyright 2008 by the Society for Music Theory.
All rights reserved.

[1] Copyrights for individual items published in MTO are held by their authors. Items appearing in MTO may be saved and stored in electronic or paper form, and may be shared among individuals for purposes of scholarly research or discussion, but may not be republished in any form, electronic or print, without prior, written permission from the author(s), and advance notification of the editors of MTO.

[2] Any redistributed form of items published in MTO must include the following information in a form appropriate to the medium in which the items are to appear:

This item appeared in Music Theory Online in [VOLUME #, ISSUE #] on [DAY/MONTH/YEAR]. It was authored by [FULL NAME, EMAIL ADDRESS], with whose written permission it is reprinted here.

[3] Libraries may archive issues of MTO in electronic or paper form for public access so long as each issue is stored in its entirety, and no access fee is charged. Exceptions to these requirements must be approved in writing by the editors of MTO, who will act in accordance with the decisions of the Society for Music Theory.

Return to top

Prepared by Brent Yorgason, Managing Editor
Updated December 31 2010

Number of visits:

web site analytic