Dissertation Index

Author: Roller, Jonathan B

Title: An Analysis of Selected Movements from the Symphonies of Charles Ives Using Linear and Set Theoretical Analytical Models

Institution: University of Kentucky

Begun: October 1993

Completed: October 1995


Three movements from the numbered symphonies of Charles Ives are examined using three distinct analytical systems. The second movement of the First Symphony is analyzed using Schenkerian graphs and explanations. Since the First Symphony is a tonal composition, in the traditional sense, the Schenkerian system addresses well the tonal motions in the movement. The Third Symphony is neither traditionally tonal nor atonal. It has characteristics of tonal music, especially at local levels, but does not adhere to many of the primary tenets of functional tonality. Nonetheless, it is extremely linear music driven by voice leading and contrapuntal forces. Therefore, the third movement of the Third Symphony is analyzed using linear analytical tools, some of which are borrowed from Schenkerian analysis and some of which are created for this analysis. Most of the Fourth Symphony, the first movement of which is examined here, is non-tonal and can be analyzed by the use of set theory. Additionally, original graphing techniques are employed to show pictorially the interconnectedness of sets, and a system of comparing like-named sets for similarity according to non-pitch parameters is developed. The analysis reveals a strong connectedness among the sets and also provides for formal delineation.

Keywords: Ives, symphonies, Schenkerian, set theory, analysis, linear


Chapter 1, Introduction and Literature Survey; Chapter 2, Symphony No. 1, Movement 2; Chapter 3, Symphony No. 3, Movement 3; Chapter 4, Symphony No. 4, Prelude; Chapter 5, Conclusion


Jonathan Roller, 104-D Bellevue, Wilmore, KY, 40390;

     Return to dissertations