Society for Music Theory

About MTO

Music Theory Online was launched experimentally in March 1993, after which issues 0.1 through 0.11 were published. Its permanent status was marked in January 1995 with the publication of Volume 1.1. MTO contains articles, commentaries on articles from previous issues, reviews, and essays all related to the field of professional music theory.

MTO is peer reviewed and is indexed in RILM, Music Index, and other periodical indexes. MTO is accessible free of charge through the World-Wide Web. If you value MTO and other free SMT services, please take a few moments to join SMT. Membership grants a number of benefits which non-members do not enjoy.

The Society for Music Theory also publishes the print journal Music Theory Spectrum, which is included in SMT membership.

MTO Personnel

Founding Editor
Lee Rothfarb (University of California, Santa Barbara)
Nicole Biamonte (McGill University)
Associate Editor
Stephen Rodgers (University of Oregon)
Reviews Editors
Joti Rockwell (Pomona College)
Michael Callahan (Michigan State University)
Editorial Board
Arved Ashby (Ohio State University) Amy Bauer (University of California, Irvine
Stacey Davis (University of Texas at San Antonio) Mine Doğantan-Dack (University of Oxford)
Christopher Doll (Rutgers University) Robert Hasegawa (McGill University)
Melissa Hoag (Oakland University) Kevin Korsyn (University of Michigan)
Panayotis Mavromatis (New York University, Steinhardt) Jocelyn Neal (University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill)
David Neumeyer (University of Texas at Austin) William Renwick (McMaster University)
René Rusch (McGill University) Chris Stover (The New School)
Sarah Weiss (Yale - NUS College) Rachel Wells Hall (Saint Joseph’s University)
Managing Editor 
Brent Yorgason (Brigham Young University)
Senior Editorial Assistant
Michael McClimon (Indiana University)
Editorial Assistants
Rebecca Flore (University of Chicago) Julia Gjebic (McGill University)
Chris Misa (University of Oregon) Tahirih Motazedian (Yale University)

MTO Policy on Conflicts of Interest. To ensure public trust in the peer review process and credibility of articles and reviews published in Music Theory Online, all participants (reviewers and editors) agree to disclose any relationships that could be perceived as presenting a conflict of interest. In the case of any such disclosed relationship, arrangements for alternate reviewers and/or editors will generally be made. Alternative arrangements may be waived if it is determined that the participant is in an ideal position to engage in robust and informed scholarly dialogue, and if the participant agrees to act in good faith, minimizing any potential conflict.

Thanks are due to the following institutions for generous support:

McGill University (2014- )
University of Colorado Boulder (2012-2014)
Wesleyan University (2011-2012)
Florida State University (2008-2011)
University of Houston (2002-2008)
Indiana University (1999-2002)
The University of California, Santa Barbara (1994-1998)
The Society for Music Theory (1995- )
Harvard University (1992-94)

Prepared by Brent Yorgason, Managing Editor
Updated December 22 2015

Number of visits:

wordpress visitor