Society for Music Theory

Editor’s Message

Dear gracious readers of MTO,

It is my honor to present volume 16.2 of MTO: Form as Process for your summertime reading pleasure. This special volume is devoted to the issues of processual form as they have been introduced and explored by Janet Schmalfeldt, an invaluable member of our society. As a scholar, pedagogue, performer, mentor, and leader, her work on the stage and behind the scenes reverberates throughout the music-theory community. I imagine that none were surprised to discover that the Montréal conference session from which the present volume is drawn saw an unprecedented crowd, with scholars and students lining the aisles, filling the floor, and spilling out the doors. Here, finally, is an opportunity to peruse the arguments, while examining the scores and listening to performances by Malcolm Bilson, Mike Lee, FSU’s Trio Solis, and, of course, Janet Schmalfeldt herself.

As Brenda Ravenscroft’s elegant introduction attests, the volume is set up in an unusual format, with essays by Carissa Reddick, Mike Cheng-Yu Lee, William Caplin, and James Hepokoski followed by responses from Schmalfeldt. While Reddick approaches broader issues of formal overlap, Lee explores the performance ramifications of Schmalfeldt’s work in Schubert’s A-Minor Piano Sonata, op. 42. Caplin’s and Hepokoski’s essays are adapted from work published in a recent collection of essays on Beethoven’s Tempest sonata (edited by Pieter Bergé and reproduced in part with his kind permission). Here, they take advantage of MTO’s unique multimedia capabilities, providing instant access to audio examples by first-rate performers.

Volume 16.2 also includes two reviews. David Damschroder reviews the entire Tempest Sonata collection: Beethoven’s “Tempest” Sonata: Perspectives of Analysis and Performance, edited by Pieter Bergé (Leuven: Peeters Publishers, 2009). David Casacuberta reviews David Temperley’s Music and Probability (Cambridge: MIT Press, 2007).

Our new look is continuing to evolve. You may notice a more user-friendly page width and improved “pop-up” footnotes. In addition, our Google search feature has returned to a position of prominence. As may will recall from the previous volume, the announcements, job listings, and dissertations have been moved to a new page, but are easy to access through the left-hand menu.

As always, we would like to take a moment to recognize the indefatigable work of Brent Yorgason, our managing editor, and all of our editorial assistants, Sean Atkinson (UT Arlington), William Guerin (Indiana University), John Reef (Indiana University), Sarah Sarver (Florida State University), Fabrice Curtis (Florida State University), Gregory Decker (Florida State University), David Easley (Florida State University), Chelsey Hamm (Florida State University), Andrew Gades (Florida State University), Judith Ofcarcik (Florida State University), Crystal Peebles (Florida State University), and Jennie Smith (Florida State University).

As you begin gearing up for your summer research, please consider MTO for your new and creative submissions. Although we are uniquely suited for the publication of articles that incorporate recordings, videos, and other media, we also welcome submissions in any number of formats, including full-length articles, shorter essays and commentaries, and entire special volumes. Comments in response to this issue’s articles may be submitted to the Editor for publication in the next issue. Please refer to our new submission guidelines, if you are interested in submitting.

Our dynamic listings for job announcements, upcoming conferences, calls for papers, new dissertations, and new books are updated automatically as soon as we receive and approve any new listing. Readers can check the MTO listings at any time to find current information on recent announcements. We also have links for submitting announcements online.

All MTO volumes dating back to our first issue in 1993 can be accessed from the contents page at

Thank you, as always, for your support of MTO - a Journal of the Society for Music Theory.